Tips and Tricks

Caffeine and Your Anxiety

Listen to it as a podcast!

Caffeine and Your Anxiety Beating Uncertainty

This episode is about how caffeine can affect your anxiety. All show notes are available on my blog. This episode is also available as a blog post: https://beatinguncertainty.wordpress.com/2021/01/27/caffeine-and-your-anxiety/ — Support this podcast: https://podcasters.spotify.com/pod/show/taylor-brindle/support

Most people, especially in America, enjoy some sort of caffeine during the day. I am not an exception to this; I enjoy a nice hot cup of coffee to get me going in the morning. Unfortunately, caffeine can actually play into your anxiety. It gives us the jitters, and though we may feel more awake for awhile, there are often crashes and the desire for more caffeine. I have limited myself to only one cup of coffee, but I still start feeling run down by about 2:30-3:00 in the afternoon. Caffeine is a drug. Our minds and bodies are hooked on the stimulant that leaves us wanting more when we start to come down from the caffeine “high.” Whether it’s coffee, caffeinated tea, energy drinks, energy shots, or whatever else is offered on the market today, it’s not a good idea to indulge in this quick pick-me-up.

Ask yourself this question: Why do you enjoy caffeine?

For me, I do like the energy boost, but I also enjoy the warm drink in my hands as I am frequently cold.

Here’s some substitutes to try:

For coffee: try decaf or chicory root “coffee!”

For energy drinks: try natural energy drinks that use herbs instead of caffeine!

For soda: try fruit infused water!

For hot caffeinated tea: try decaf!

There are lots of great natural stimulants out there like ginseng, carob, B vitamins, and much more!

Sugar has the same effect as caffeine, so try to limit that, too!

Also, you might want to see why you’re so tired. Not sleeping well? Not sleeping enough? Added stress?

Caffeine can exasperate anxiety and make it seem overwhelming. Try these alternatives, and let me know what you think. I’m going to try to cut out my caffeine, too!

If you have any questions, comments, or concerns, please feel free to email me at beatinguncertainty@gmail.com.

Don’t forget to Subscribe!

2 thoughts on “Caffeine and Your Anxiety

Leave a comment